before

I’m just saying, despite Amazon, despite eBay, despite the iTunes Music Store, despite Skype, despite all the dozens of reasons why – I’m glad I grew up in a world without the internet.

It’s was a place my children and my children’s children will never be able to go to or comprehend. It was a bigger world and a smaller world. There wasn’t a Google to look things up so you could cheat on TV and radio internet game shows; there wasn’t a Wikipedia or Wikileaks or Dictionary.com to render so much printed knowledge so useless. But mostly – it seemed to be a more magical place for a kid to believe…

…you know, believe in things like The Bermuda Triangle, in UFOs, in crystal skulls, in Freemasons and the Pyramids…

The internet is amazing. It’s played a major role in my career and personal life as much as anyone – but it can be such a killjoy sometimes? What’s the point of believing in something…even if you know it’s not true, if the next person can just look up the answer with his or her smartphone? What’s the point of writing letters or a diary when you can tweet, pin, share, like, and digg it? What’s the point of waiting for that great new movie premiere so you and your ten friends can go watch it at midnight in the cinema when you can just torrent stream via any number of services like Mio, AppleTV, Netflix, Amazon in the comfort of your home…

The net is great but it’s also an incredibly great waste of time and productivity and it this respect, all it’s done is replace the television in doing that.

I hope my children grow up to take photos, because they appreciate art and science of photography, in addition to needing to upload to Facebook & Flickr. – I hope they write because they’re inspired by something from literature or poetry or history and not just because they want to tweet about how bad lunch was. I hope they live life outside of these 11, 13, 15, 17, 21, 27-inches —– pieces of windows / monitors.

About this entry